Seleshi Tilahun Tiruneh

Seleshi Tilahun Tiruneh
Debre Berhan University, Ethiopia
Dean of the College of Engineering

Dean College Of Engineering, Debre Berhan University

BSc. degree from Mekele University in industrial engineering


MSc. Degree from Addis Ababa university institute of technology (AAIT) in industrial engineering

 Background of Debre Berhan University

 Debre Berhan University, which is a 8-year young university, is established in the 600 years old historical town- Debre Berhan – a town situated in Amhara Region, North Shoa zone, 130 km away from Addis Ababa in the north. The most powerful explanation of the establishment of the University is the government`s commitment towards the expansion of quality higher education as well as ensuring a reasonable distribution of higher education in the country.

Based on these organizing explanations the foundation stone was laid down on 9th May, 2005 G.C by her Excellency w/ro Genet Zewdie, the then Ministry of Minister of Education of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia.

Thereafter, the construction of the university was started on a total land area of 102 hectares which was given by the City Administration of Debre Berhan Town.

The initial intake capacity of the university (in Jan. 2007 G.C.) was 725 students who joined into 5 departments with 68 instructors and 7 administrative staffs. But now, the enrollment has significantly increased to around 20,000 regular, extension and summer students who joined into 42 departments/ programs under ten colleges, two institutes and eight post-graduate programs.

 Miraculously to its being young, the management fervently and zealously envisions to become one of the best universities in Ethiopia by 2020 G.C. 

Hence, it is adamantly and unrelentingly working and undertaking massive organizational activities in terms of human resource development and construction with an over view to further enhancing its institutional capacity on areas of producing competent graduates, conducting a problem solving research & offering community services.

College of engineering has five undergraduate departments, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, chemical engineering, electrical and computer engineering and construction technology management. It has more than 5000 students and more than 250 teachers.